Warwickshire Symphony Orchestra – English Concert


The Banks of Green Willow – Butterworth
Cello Concerto – Elgar
Symphony No. 2 (A London Symphony) – Vaughan Williams

Lionel Handy – cello

Roger Coull – conductor


Tonight’s concert features three works by English composers, all written in the second decade of the twentieth century. The composer George Butterworth was to perish on the Somme only three years after he wrote his idyll The Banks of Green Willow, aged just 31. It is four years since Lionel Handy joined the WSO in the Dvořák Cello Concerto and we are pleased to welcome him back as soloist for the Elgar concerto. This concert of English music reaches its powerful conclusion with Vaughan Williams descriptive pictures of London around the year 1910.

Book Tickets

From £14 - £18


Saturday, 13th October at 7:30pm


Warwick Hall

Music Event