Orchestra of the Swan: From the New World

7.30pm Thursday 10th Nov, 2022

Warwick Hall

Violinist Priya Mitchell described by The Strad as “one of the foremost violinists of her generation”, and The Swan’s Principal Conductor Michael Collins, help to kick off The Swan’s new season at our Warwick residency, in a concert that sets out to explore what constitutes as truly American music in the 21st century.

Culturally and politically America is a bewildering tangle of contradictions. It should come as no surprise, therefore, that its music reflects that confusion. What we perceive as the quintessentially ‘American’ sound was in fact inspired by the immigrants, refugees and slaves who disseminated their astonishingly rich musical heritage wherever they settled. As America continues to struggle with its pernicious legacy of slavery and genocide this concert explores what constitutes a truly American music in the 21st century.

Copland                                                          Hoe Down

Jessie Montgomery                                      Banner

Barber                                                             Violin Concerto, Op.14

Dvořák arr. Iain Farrington                           Symphony No.9 in E minor, ‘From the New World’, Op.95

Violin Priya Mitchell

Conductor Michael Collins

Event Details

  • Thu 10 Nov 2022, 7.30pm

Join our Mailing List

Find Us

The Bridge House Theatre
Warwick School
Myton Road
CV34 6PP

Social Media

© Copyright Bridge House Theatre 2022